End of Semester – Weekly Reflection

The semester is winding down and the first part of my final internship is coming to a close. I am so excited to be a part of a classroom as a virtually full-time teacher. I have gained so much knowledge and experience by being a member of the Urban Teacher Residency Partnership Program (UTRPP). I am excited to continue my journey to becoming a future educator by co-teaching and co-planning and taking the lead on various subject areas in the classroom. For this semester, I have taken the lead in both Social Studies and Science. I co-plan most subject areas with my collaborating teacher and we co-teach the ELA block as well as Mathematics. I am still absorbing lots of information for my collaborating teacher by observing her lessons and teaching methods.

Although there was no content coaching this week, I still participated in the classroom as much as possible. In Social Studies, I taught the students based on the standard “SS.1.A.2.2 – Compare life now with life in the past.” For this current week and the following week, we will focus on “SS.1.A.2.1 – Understand history tells the story of people and events of other times and places.” I have introduced the topic of biographies to my students and will teach them about famous individuals such as Susan B. Anthony, Jane Goodall and George Washington Carver. In order to make this lesson more meaningful to the students, for the last week of December, my students will write biographies about their classmates. This culturally responsive teaching allows the students to explore facts about each other and make each individual feel important and special.

In Mathematics, we have been working on place value and reading numbers on a Hundred Chart.

A1

 

This aligns with the standards “MAFS.1.NBT.1.1 – Count to 120, starting at any number less than one 120. In this range, read and write numerals and represent a number of objects with a written numeral” and “MAFS.1.NBT.2.2 – Understand that the two digits of a two-digit number represent the amounts of tens and ones.”

One of my favorite activities for these standards is Hundred Chart Puzzles. The students are give a “piece” of a hundreds chart and must use their knowledge of counting by ones and tens to fill it out.

A2

 

These standards are important to help students understand concepts in the later grades, for example, a student needs to understand the basic concepts of place value before learning about hundreds and thousands as well as decimals. Teaching students to count by tens also helps create a basic understanding of multiplication by tens.

In Science, the students have participated in multiple design challenges not only through the Inquiry Monday lessons but through my science lessons. The science content that we are learning about aligns with the standard “SC.1.E.5.1 – Observe and discuss that there are more stars in the sky than anyone can easily count and that they are not scattered evenly in the sky.” This is an important concept to teach because it introduces the idea of the vastness of space and types of stars in the sky. It is important that students notice that even though there are constellations in the sky, the stars are not arranged in specific patterns that match these constellations.

I am excited to continue working with my collaborating teacher as we finish up the final weeks of the semester. I cannot wait to go on my first field trip to a farm during the last week of school (December 15th through December 19th). I will continue to work in my internship during the final week of school. My college courses ended last week and this week is considered “finals week” although technically speaking I do not have any finals. I am happy that I can put all of my efforts into focusing on my internship and making the most out of my experience. There is so much to come and I cannot wait!

Leave a Reply

